Jayson Granger receives the Endesa Award

Jayson Granger received the Endesa 2020 Award this Friday from José Bogas, CEO of Endesa, at an event in the company's new Commercial Office in Madrid. The Uruguayan playmaker has overcome a serious injury to return to play in the Final Phase and proclaim himself Endesa League champion with Kirolbet Baskonia.

Jayson Granger is the winner of the Endesa 2020 Prize, an award that seeks to recognize the Endesa League player who knows how to get the most out of their energy, combining the values of attitude, leadership, efficiency, generosity and dedication.

Granger has demonstrated all those values and great spirit in overcoming serious injuries in recent years, the last of these in the first minute of the first day of the 2019-2020 Endesa League: rupture of the Achilles tendon, which likely would have ended his season. However, the break in the competition schedule due to the pandemic offered him a chance to recover and return, rejoining Kirolbet Baskonia to prepare for the Final Phase of the Endesa League.

On June 17, 264 days after his extremely serious injury, Jayson Granger stepped onto a basketball court again and offered an outstanding performance in the team during the Final Phase of the Endesa League, helping Kirolbet Baskonia conquer its first league title in 10 years.

The Uruguayan playmaker received the Endesa Award from José Bogas, CEO of Endesa, accompanied by Antonio Martín, President of the ACB, in an act that took place this Friday at the new Endesa Commercial Office on Ortega y Gasset Street in Madrid.


Jayson Granger: 11 seasons and 308 matches in the Endesa League

The Uruguayan playmaker has become, at 30 years old, a classic and one of the Endesa League benchmarks in recent years. After his début in the 2007-08 season with Estudiantes, Granger played eleven seasons with the 'Estu' (2007-2013), Unicaja (2013-2015) and Baskonia (2017-2020), with a short interval of two seasons in Istanbul.

In total, Jayson Granger has played 308 Endesa League games with averages of 8.0 points, 3.5 assists and 2.6 rebounds per game.


Endesa Award Winners

The award started during the 2011-12 season with Sergi Vidal and has had nine different winners since then. The last winner was Javier Beirán last season as a member of Iberostar Tenerife.

Sergi Vidal
Gipuzkoa Basket
Nacho Martín
CB Valladolid
Sergio Rodríguez
Real Madrid
Felipe Reyes
Real Madrid
Álex Mumbrú
Bilbao Basket
Juan Carlos Navarro Felipe Reyes Álex Mumbrú
FC Barcelona Real Madrid Bilbao Basket
Luka Doncic
Real Madrid
2019 Javier Beirán Iberostar Tenerife
Jayson Granger
Kirolbet Baskonia


Press release in PDF

PDF (0.26MB) Download
advise icon go to the advise Facebook icon go to Facebook Twitter icon go to Twitter Youtube icon go to Youtube Messenger icon go to Messenger Linkedin icon go to Linkedin Instagram icon go to Instagram Shared Link icon Go to the shared link Checkmark Success icon Checkmark Success down arrow icon down arrow Previous Go to previous Next Go to the next close icon close add icon add up arrow icon up arrow oblique arrow icon look obliquely Arrow down icon Arrow down search engine icon search search engine icon search share icon share filter icon filter email icon send mail email icon email phone icon phone fax icon fac print icon print play icon play user icon go to the user section error icon an error has occurred info icon information thumb up icon like thumb up icon like thumb down icon don't like thumb down icon don't like clock icon Clock Lamp icon Lamp List icon List Map icon Go to the map Phone icon Phone Emergency icon Emergency Pause icon Pause Play icon Play Logout icon Sign off Phone icon Phone